Monday, August 19, 2013

You just gonna throw that away anyway.

I have seen lot's of things from behind this counter, but among the craziest thing I have ever seen is the way people react when they are caught in the act. First let me say that I have no problem feeding a hungry person if I have the means to. That being said, I am not about to let you take advantage of me, or my job. Let's say that a male and a female come into the store both are relatively well dressed, not suit and tie but nice enough to let you know that they are not on the streets right now, they may not be too far removed, but I am getting ahead of myself. Anyway they enter the store and make a b line to the hotdogs and proceed to fix several hotdogs. Cool, that's what they're there for and it's part of my job to help serve you. I get it. The male then approaches the counter and says "hey I was promised by so and so that I can get these for a discounted rate since they are old. Red flag, red flag, red flag. This is where the problem comes in, because I have not been told anything about this by so and so, and even if I were so and so should have been there to put their own name on the line not mine. So I politely in form the male that unfortunately I could not honor what so and so had said because the said hotdogs were in fact not old and that would be like giving them away. " oh , oh, man I tell you our people just devils some time." Now normally I would have been pissed about that statement but it just so happens that I agree some of the people are devils, I'm not but hey everyone has an opinion. So I let them rant and rave cause I am all for free expression, now that I think of it I did it with a smile too. So they are like "oh well you just gonna have to throw them away." To which I reply no problem it happens. Now I said this for two reasons. The first being that you not gonna come in and hustle me. Second you don't have money for these hotdogs, but you gonna spend 5 or 6 bucks on the lottery. Hell no, big flashing stop light. So now attitude. The male walks around the store and pockets about 5 packs of meat and cheese slim jims. Now had I seen this right away I would have just called the cops. However a friend of mine that was there with me walks up to the customer on the back isle and says some thing to the guy. The guy then proceeds to try and argue with the person. They go back and fourth the guy buys his lottery tickets and then him and the "lady" he is with leave. All the while talking trash. Are we at a point in our society where everyone feels they are owed a free meal? Just because you fixed that hotdog and now it has to be thrown away because you refuse to cut into your lottery money, does not give you the right to steal. Also what kind of person takes advantage of their relationship with another person and tries to collect on the fact that you know someone, and what kind of person feels that well since you are going to have to toss them in the trash you should just let me have them. Fool you are the reason that they have to be thrown in the trash to begin with. Let me end with this, there is no such thing as a free lunch. You know why? Because people like the fool in this story have wasted all the food, and worn on the hearts of good-natured people that would feed you; had not tried to hustle them.

No comments:

Post a Comment